A letter to my sister on her birthday

Bharathy Sundaravadivel
3 min readJun 9, 2021

--

I was watching tv one fine evening after finishing all my homework and all of a sudden calling bell screamed. When I opened the door there was my friend’s sister to copy my classwork notes. She visited often my home in the evening to help my friend. They were together all the time. That was the time I had felt the serious pain of being lonely.

I was just a first standard kid so I could not think much bigger. All I needed was a companion and the best way would be a sibling who can stand by our side all the time. I prayed to God all I want is a sister to do my homework, to play ball with me, and to be with me forever.

I saved every penny to offer in God’s hundiyal. I was hoping for a baby sister. I cried to my mom that I wanted a sister. I walked to school alone. I wanted her badly. I came back home and felt I’ve no one to play with. I went to the nearby ground. I was standing near the see-saw and again I wanted her much more. My want has turned to need in the course of time. I needed a sister..!

It was 13th November 1998 I came with my lunch bag and new hopes expecting good news. There was the news, my uncle said it’s “A BABY GIRL”.

Dropping my things at home we rushed to the hospital to see the new wonder. There she was an angel with her pinkish finger holding mine. She smiled at me. I wished to kiss her but mom said no but angel’s eyes said yes! I had no idea how similar we are and how much our life is going to be together but I just loved her even before she was born.

I thanked GOD for granting my first wish which was extremely fulfilling. We named her Tiruloksha (Goddess of 3 worlds). It was my selection again. Being with her was my biggest dream. I combed her little tiny hairs. I will finish all my homework soon to just watch the way she sleeps.

I tried stopping her tears with my singing skills though she stopped crying, it was astonishing. She grew up slowly and I grew up seeing her, doing her homework, playing with her toys, and sketching her charts. It was a wish which worked vice versa.

Today all of us are celebrating her birthday but for me, it is a celebration of “years of togetherness” ( She can’t say the same on my birthday). We have a long gap in terms of years but actually, it makes us even closer. When I bid bye to my teen you say hi! When I close my books of serious studies you need to open them.

Yes, we have lots of differences but how does it matter? We have fought with each other but supported each other through bad times. We made fun of each other but spilled tears together. Here goes my confession, all my life would have been awfully blank without you like back seat of my cycle, my notes with your sketched scribblings, my birthday with your mouth filled chocolates, my pinches & punches and your loud cry, my bedtime stories and your questions, my cooking recipes and you being a guinea pig. My motherly feeling and just YOU!

You are always the hidden source of my happiness. You have made me feel that siblingship is beyond sharing surnames.

I know you love me but do you know I love you more than that? I may not have given you a single worthy birthday gift or cake but you should know I have given much more than that. That’s my love for you!

You’re the most beautiful first wish and gift I got and still I feel special. Happy birthday to you!

With love and love only

~ Your sister

--

--